On April 3, 2010, Will and I had our engagement photoshoot.  It was a beautiful day.  It was the first gorgeous weekend after the torrential floods we had experienced in Massachusetts.  It got up to 70 degrees that day, the sun was shining brightly, and the breeze was wonderful.  Our photographers, Jules Ko and Dan Myung, helped capture these memories for us.

We chose to take our pictures in a place that has a deeply sentimental meaning to us – Boston University.  We met there in 2004 and spent the first three years of our relationship there.  We both know God sent us specifically to BU, not only for intellectual growth, but also for spiritual and relational growth.  BU will always hold many special memories for me (I spent seven years there!)  I knew I wanted to capture the essence of BU in our photos.

We also chose to take some pictures of the Boston skyline.  I am a complete sucker for skylines.  There’s just something that makes me in awe of skylines, particularly at night.  It fascinates me to think that there is a person in every light that shines in a window.  It makes me wonder if that person in there is a woman or a man, a child, a teacher, a dog-lover, someone praying or watching TV.  I love knowing that there are people out there that I don’t know, but are carrying on their lives as they normally would.  Boston, itself, has been a great town to me.  I grew up in suburbs and came to Boston full of excitement.  A lot of my friends went to local colleges, but I was so thrilled to be able to travel away from home and to come to a small, but actual city.  I feel so comfortable in Boston – I know it better than my own hometown.  I really wanted to have Boston be a part of the background to our pictures.

See more here: Will and Katherine’s Engagement Photographs

