When you’re in school, you study all the time.  You study for your economics exam, your anatomy practical, your Spanish oral, or your marketing presentation.  And, barring any changes in your major, you’ll most likely use the knowledge you acquire to help you in your continuing studies or eventual career.  Therefore, your studies will be greatly beneficial to you in the short-term (passing your exam) and in the long-term (earning your paycheck).

I began studying for a very important exam at the beginning of this past school year.  There was a lot of anticipation regarding the exam.  I began reading all the necessary reading materials.  I even borrowed some of the books from other people who had taken this exam.  I asked these people how their studying went, what chapters to read first, when I should move onto the next chapter, and what I could expect as I studied.  I researched online for other study aids and sent emails to the authors of these aids, asking them if they’d be able to help me prepare for the exam in the next months and even asked some of them to assist me on the morning of the exam.  I gave checks and my credit card numbers to some of these resources I found, to ensure they’d help me.  I consulted my parents for advice leading up to the exam day, knowing that they had taken this exam and had helped many other men and women who were studying for the same thing.  I made lists and lists of what I needed to do next, Excel sheet after Excel sheet tracking who was providing which study service and how much their rate was, and found pictures and diagrams on the internet to enhance my study material.

At the end of the school year, the exam came.  I was nervous and anxious for the day, but mostly excited just to get it over with.  I didn’t want to study anymore!  I felt adequately prepared.  The exam went very well.  I felt like the studying I did and the time and money I spent preparing for it was all worth it.

Everything went okay, but I realized that I did what everyone tells you not to do.

I spelled my name wrong.

I wrote “Tung” instead of “Shao.”

=)

Studying and taking the test was great and all.  But now what do I do with all that knowledge?  I lived, breathed, ate, and dreamed this stuff for months!  And all for just one exam!  What am I supposed to do with this stuff after exam day?

Share it with other engaged and pre-engaged people!  That’s really all you can do with it.

A friend emailed me the other week telling me that she got engaged.  She wanted to “pick [my] brain.”  And boy, was I happy to have my brain picked!  I spent 30 minutes telling her all about venues, photographers, makeup artists, paper websites, DJs, reasons why we chose certain things, pros and cons to other things.  It was awesome to be able to share all this “wisdom” and “dump” my knowledge on someone who really wants it!

It was very satisfying to be able to help someone out.  Now that the exam is over, I assume this is what will have to come out of all my studying.  I’m guessing this is the reason some brides wind up changing professions to become wedding planners.

If you’re also studying for this exam, feel free to ask me any questions about it!  I promise I won’t tell the professor.

