Christmas 2010 was spent in North Potomac, MD. This was the first time since June when all of us kids were together with my parents.

People have asked me if we have any Christmas traditions. And I have to think about it for a little while, because I don’t really think we do. From as far back as I can remember to when I went to college, we always traveled to New York to see our grandparents and aunts and uncles and cousins. Once I went to college, then I sometimes went home to see my family or met halfway in New York, but it kinda changed each year. So, I don’t really think we’ve established a tradition post-college. We’re starting from scratch!

Christmas dinner was hot pot! I love hot pot at my parent’s house. I like all the things we eat for hot pot. No strange squid or weird broth or squishy things that I can’t figure out. And two hot pots for six people is awesome. We have all the basics: shrimp, fishballs, pork, beef, napa, enoki mushrooms, fun ci, and tofu. And satay and soy sauce. And rice. YUM.

And then after dinner, we took about 13879 family pictures with the whole group and every other combination of people.

And then my mom wanted to get all the presents together and take a picture:

It was a wonderful, yummy, cozy Christmas night with family!

Then on Sunday night, Melissa (our chef-to-be) made us dinner!

I was her sous chef.

The theme ingredient was bacon.

Rice pilaf:

More bacon:

Cauliflower for the cauliflower gratin:

Stir:

Deviled eggs:


Main course: quail, rice pilaf, cauliflower gratin, and asparagus:

Close-up!

Close-up!

This is how big a quail leg is:

Glad there was a big casserole dish of gratin!  It was chock full of cheesy goodness!

Looks like the dinner guests are enjoying it!

This guy too!

And then we had dinner on Monday at New Fortune to celebrate Will’s birthday.  I was too hungry to take a picture before the food was eaten.

It was a superb Christmas.

=)

