What a rollercoaster…There have been many ups and downs with Graves’, literally and figuratively.  I have been swinging between hypo and hyperthyroidism.

After my last post, I continued to have muscle cramps and they were happening in the strangest places.  I was getting cramps in my tricep, shoulder blade, top of my shoulder, pectorals, and neck.  Blood tests from 11/27 continued to show I was still mildly hypo.  I was dropped to 15mg of Methimazole a day.

Even after this decrease in medication, I was still getting cramps.  They were happening at the base of my skull (those hurt so bad that I couldn’t concentrate if someone was talking to me at that moment) and muscles in my forearm.  I even got one in the muscles in the front of my neck when I yawned! Weird, painful stuff!

After yet another blood test on 12/17, the doctor took me off my medication completely.  It had been a month of slowly decreasing my medication, but my levels were not improving.   After a few days, I could tell my thyroid levels were increasing.  My eyes were tearing more (I needed to have tissues with me at all times because I was “crying” so much) and they were more swollen (my bottom eye lashes kept getting stuck on my eyeball…thus making me “cry” more).  I was more hungry, I got out of breath sooner, sweated more, and I could feel my heart race during normal physical activity.

I gave more blood on 1/7 and it was confirmed that I have swung back to hyper.  I am currently taking 10mg/day and I will see my doctor in February.

The cramps have gone away…YAY!  My eyes and other symptoms have gotten better too.  So, physically I feel better.

As for emotionally and spiritually, this has been on its own rollercoaster.

I have never really been “sick” before.  I’ve never had to take medication to maintain my health.  During the first two weeks of getting diagnosed, I wasn’t sure what God was doing.  I got teary at work when I first got confirmation that something was wrong with my thyroid.  I hadn’t yet been diagnosed with Graves’, but knowing that my thyroid levels indicated something was wrong, made me anxious.

Wednesday, August 29.  The day I got the phone call from my PCP saying that my second blood test confirmed my elevated thyroid levels and that I would need to see radiology for further testing to find out exactly what was the cause.  Later that day, I went to the first floor of the hospital to see what the residents were doing during their recreational time. A few co-workers and I had been joking about this cute guy who had come earlier that month to play guitar and sing songs to the residents.  We joked about trying to set him up with our co-op student and when we heard he was playing again for the residents this day, we went down to see him.  When we went down to the room, he was singing this song:

Everyone needs compassion,
Love that’s never failing
Let mercy fall on me

Everyone needs forgiveness,
Kindness of a Savior
The Hope of nations

Savior, He can move the mountains,
My God is mighty to save,
He is mighty to save
Forever, author of salvation,
He rose and conquered the grave
Jesus conquered the grave

So take me as you find me
All my fears and failures
Fill my life again

I give my life to follow
Everything I believe in
Now I surrender

Shine your light and let the whole world see
We’re singing, for the glory of the risen king
Jesus, shine your light and let the whole world see
We’re singing for the glory of the risen king

I was floored.  I was amazed.  I knew God was speaking (through this cute guy) directly to me.  Here, in my secular workplace, is a guy singing a Christian praise song.

My entry from my prayer journal, August 30, 6:24am:

God, thank you for your answer to my health.  I pray for continual trust in you.  I praise you for the unforseeable reminder yesterday – a person I don’t even know the last name of, singing your truths at my workplace.  Savior – he can move the mountains.  My God is might to save, he is mighty to save.  Forever, Author of salvation.  He rose and conquered the grave, Jesus conquered the grave.  He can save – not just from sin/death, but save from trials and fear.  He has authored my salvation, but he also authors everything in my life – my triumphs, trials, community, family.  Authoring means to me…control and thought and planning and that there is a purpose.  All of which I believe is happening now.  Thank you for the diagnosis so far.  I pray for continual answers, support, guidance, trust, faith, hope.  I know you are near.  Give me strength and compassion and patience. You are provider, protector.  Savior.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

I believe God was showing me that he can be in the most unlikely places…a secular hospital, in a song from someone I don’t know, in my thyroid…in Graves’.

Since then, I have been leaning on God’s promises and truths.  I can’t say I have been depressed about Graves’ because I know God wouldn’t give me something I couldn’t handle.  Being in His word and prayer and being surrounded by a community of prayer warriors has kept me patient and hopeful.

This journey with Graves’ isn’t over and I know it’ll be with me for the rest of my life.  But so is the case with my God.  And I’m thankful.

For the glory of the risen king.

